Gel Pedi: Van Gogh’s Starry Night

I had a really interesting customisation request the other day – for Van Gogh’s Starry Night to be painted on my customer’s big toes’ nails, and for the rest of the nails to match.

She must love this art piece by Van Gogh a lot, because her laptop had a custom wrap with the art work printed on it. That was the image that I referred to when doing her pedi art! Here’s an image I just found off Wikipedia:

Now imagine having to do that on tiny toenails! What I normally do is to mentally resize the image, to see how much detail can be retained realistically. That would be about this size:

ministarry

Here is the simplified version I did for her toes! I spread the artwork out over the two big toes so that they would connect to form a whole. I had to leave out some bits like the houses at the bottom though, due to space constraints!

DSC03461

Then I did random abstract stars and skies to match…

DSC03459

Leave a Reply

