Review: Shin Kushiya

Mr M and I went on an excursion to the West recently and decided to explore the new mall JEM at Jurong East. We checked out the store directory to look for a new place to try for dinner, and saw the name “Shin Kushiya”. Since we both love Japanese food, it was an easy decision for us. Here’s what we ordered!

1. Beef, medium rare – just the way we like it! So juicy and tender and flavourful!

DSC02653

DSC02655

2. Gindara Teriyaki (yakitori) – only ordered one stick to try their gindara teriyaki and it was delicious – the marinade penetrated deeply and wasn’t just on the surface, and the fish was fresh.

DSC02656

DSC02657

3. Garlic fried rice. Actually, by now, I was quite impressed with the quality of the food. The only problem was that every single item was lukewarm. Even the yakitori, which I expected to be hot since it was grilled. And the rice, which was fried. What’s going on here? It’s just so weird to be eating food that took a while to be served (so I assumed it hadn’t been sitting there for a while) yet wasn’t hot enough.

DSC02658

4. Next… sushi! I was really excited about the sushi because the menu said that all their ingredients were flown in DAILY from Japan’s Tsukiji market. How’s that for fresh? So, I ordered salmon belly, otoro (bluefin tuna belly, which I gobbled up before I remembered to take pictures), and a platter of assorted sushi.

DSC02660

The salmon belly was really good, and the otoro was AMAZING. I’ve never really found otoro in Singapore that was comparable to Tsukiji quality, but this one really hit the spot. The marbling was divine and the tuna just melted in my mouth and was so sweet! To me, the good otoro I had in Japan tasted like sweet apples, and this one tasted exactly the same.

DSC02661

The only thing that disappointed me was the maguro – tasteless, unlike the ones I had in Japan.

DSC02662

5. Finally, dessert. I ordered red bean and green tea mochi. It was yummy, and while I was half-expecting the green tea mochi to be unsweetened and somewhat bitter,it turned out to be quite sweet.

DSC02663

DSC02664

The red bean soup was rich and yummy, but I was puzzled that there were no actual red beans inside. It appeared that they had made the red beans into a pasty soup, rather than the usual clear soup with solid red beans. I was fine with it, and enjoyed it this way, but I do like munching on red beans, and I had thought there would be some, given that the picture in the menu looked like this:

DSC02665

I see you, red beans.

DSC02667

I don’t see any red beans here though.

Overall, the food was good, but we were nonplussed at the temperature of the food, which tempered our enjoyment somewhat. I wondered if it was a deliberate cooking method to retain the moisture and juices in the food, but I decided it probably wasn’t because… how could the yakitori and the fried rice both be deliberately served at room temperature?

Mr M and myself are prepared to try out Shin Kushiya’s other branches to see if this is the case across the board. In the meantime…

Jem, #03-08, 50 Jurong Gateway Road
Tel: 63390322
Mon – Thu: 11:30 – 22:30
Fri – Sat: 11:30 – 22:30

Psst: This meal cost us about $90, including two hot green teas.

Leave a Reply

