Monday Musings #1: Quality is the Key to Success

When I ran Nail Art Express from my home, I worked 4.5 days a week, with a consistently fully-booked appointment schedule, and earned a comfortable mid-four figure salary while offering value-for-money services.

First, a little about me. I know I probably come across as harsh in my words when I talk about people in the nail industry. I have high expectations for myself, so I tend to judge others by the same exacting standards.

If I don’t think I’m good enough at something, I’ll work on it relentlessly until I am, and I definitely won’t do it on customers until I know I’m ready. I don’t understand how some nailists (trained or otherwise) can charge for their services when their work is sub-par. If you’re still at a stage where you’re unsure, you’re doing trial and error, and your customer is basically a guinea pig, you shouldn’t be offering services. You need to practice on yourself, first and foremost, then on your friends/family, until you’re confident enough to offer a limited service menu (limited to what you’re good at first, then slowly expanding as you master more services).

As nailists, we have the responsibility of care towards our customers – armed with the wrong knowledge and clumsy with inexperience, we could seriously hurt someone. And because word of mouth is the best form of marketing, you don’t want negative reviews soiling your reputation when you start offering services before you’re ready.

A lot of newbies rush into starting a home salon, thinking that all it takes is to have had some training, and the necessary equipment and materials. Then, when they don’t get many customers, they resort to lowering their prices. It’s not that simple. There are so many nailists and salons for customers to choose from, so the only way to stand out and succeed in the long run is simply to be VERY GOOD. Resorting to low prices only attracts price-sensitive customers, who will leave you for the next cheaper option once you increase your prices. You don’t want to be stuck with the reputation of being “that cheap salon”, do you?

So the bottom line is: QUALITY over QUANTITY. Low prices attract more customers, but are they the right customers you want for yourself? More customers means more work for you, but not more revenue, because your prices are low. Do you want to work smart or do you want to work hard? Spend your time working on your skills. When you’re good, customers will be willing to pay more for your services, and they’ll be more likely to recommend your services to others. It won’t happen all at once, but you’ll have to remember to be patient. Taking the time to start right is better than rushing into things and starting wrong.

Agree? Disagree? Share your thoughts!

One thought on “Monday Musings #1: Quality is the Key to Success

Leave a Reply

