Review: Patisserie G @ Millenia Walk

My favourite new hobby is to check out quaint cafes with the fiance (Mr M). He did some research and shortlisted several for us to try – Patisserie G was the first spot we hit! Apparently, Patisserie G has great cakes, so we had to try some!

G

I’m not a coffee person, so I opted for tea (they only have one kind, and it’s some kind of floral/osmanthus blend) while Mr M ordered a cappuccino. They have decent latte art!

Foodwise, Mr M got two cakes. He had to order The G Spot because it had so many rave reviews online. It’s a dark chocolate mousse with chocolate meringue, with a base of crunchy chocolate hazelnut praline, and it tasted as sinful as it sounds. Perfect rich dark chocolate! I have this thing against dark chocolate usually, because I find it too bitter, but this one wasn’t! He also ordered Triomphe, a salted caramel mousse with layers of hazelnut sponge. He said it was good, but I’m not a fan of salted caramel, so I passed on it.

For myself, I sampled some macarons! I got the Lychee Rose, Passionfruit Coconut and Hazelnut Praline (I think… not too sure about the last one!)… and the first thing that struck me was – These macarons are so small. They were a beauty to behold though! Perfectly round, with generous filling, lovely crumbly shells, and an exquisite blend of complementary flavours. I later found out that the owner-chef was Le Cordon Bleu-trained, which totally explains it.

The cafe was small but quiet, with most customers ordering food to go. We stayed for about an hour to just read and savour our food and drinks. Will we be back? Well… just for the desserts, maybe. I prefer places with a good variety of tea, and comfy armchairs!

Patisserie G
#01-40, Millenia Walk, 9 Raffles Boulevard
Tel: 63387578
Mon – Fri: 7.30am – 10pm
Sat – Sun: 10.30am – 9pm

One thought on “Review: Patisserie G @ Millenia Walk

Leave a Reply

