Review: Scalp Treatment at 99 Percent Hair Studio

NOTE: This is not a sponsored advertorial. I paid for all the services mentioned, but I do get a discounted rate as a fellow Haji Lane tenant.

Two months ago, I tried the scalp treatment at 99 Percent Hair Studio and I was absolutely blown away at how DISGUSTING (sigh) my scalp was and how effective the treatment was in clarifying and cleansing my clogged scalp. Back then, Jaron used his fancy schmancy machine to do a scalp analysis for me, and what showed up on the screen was not pretty at all. My scalp had flakes, and looked dull and dirty. I didn’t take pictures then, but this time, I borrowed Eloise’s awesome camera to document the process.

Recently, my scalp has been feeling really irritated and itchy – even when it’s only been a few hours after a hair wash. I don’t think it was due to the bleaching and colouring I did over a month ago, because my scalp didn’t sting at all when I had the bleach and dye applied, and Jaron was very careful to not let the bleach touch my scalp. After consulting Jaron, we came to the conclusion that it could be due to the new shampoo I was using. I was previously using an anti-dandruff shampoo by Redken, but switched to Redken’s Smooth Lock shampoo (super rich) because I wanted something more moisturising. I guess it was too rich for my hair after all. 😦

So, I decided to get another scalp treatment done to soothe my poor scalp. It starts off with a gel being applied section by section to my scalp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You know how there are exfoliating gels out there for use on the face? You rub them in and the dead skin cells on the surface of the skin get rubbed off. Well, I thought this was pretty similar, but it’s the first time I’ve seen it being used in a scalp treatment. I’ve done scalp treatments before and they mostly involved using masks… but this one actually scrubs your scalp clean!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Within seconds of application, the dead skin cells started gathering and falling onto the towel wrapped around my shoulders.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As Jaron gently rubbed my scalp, more gross bits started snowing down.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next step was to shampoo my hair with a special treatment shampoo without any water first. Again, this was carefully applied section by section to my scalp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the shampoo started lathering up, the remaining gross bits stuck in my hair melted away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As usual, I couldn’t help admiring my colourful hair. πŸ˜›

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that, it was off to the shampoo chair for a proper shampoo, during which I was treated to a luxurious head massage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before blowing dry my hair, Jaron used his fancy schmancy machine to spray puffs of oxygen into my scalp. Super refreshing and cooling!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally done! Took this picture to show the layer of purple/magenta I have below my yellow/green/turquoise/blue layers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could get addicted to this clean feeling… sigh. Luckily the scalp treatment isn’t pricey at $89, so I’ll probably get it done every other month, in between hair colouring sessions. The interesting thing about 99 Percent Hair Studio is that their treatment prices are a flat rate regardless of hair length – for both their scalp treatment and their moist treatment. It’s such a bad deal for girls like me, with short hair, but hey, long-haired ladies… it’s a bargain.

Find 99 Percent Hair Studio:
40 Haji Lane
Tel: 63963667
Facebook

Leave a Reply

