Tribal Swag

Wei Lin requested for a tribal/Aztec design to be done on four of her nails, and she showed me two separate designs. I ended up modifying the designs and just freestyled to get four different designs. Also, I recommended using silver studs on the plain nails to make this a more edgy set. The result:

20120723-000200.jpg

This was done with white acrylic paint on OPI Black Onyx. I was quite sad because after using Seche Vite top coat, the paint seemed to “melt” away and my lines became a little messed up. After all the effort I put in to get them neat! 😦

5 thoughts on “Tribal Swag

  1. NailsByLiz says:

    http://www.starlightnail.com/air-brush-top-coat-16oz/ i use that topcoat for my free hand art in Vietnam , cause it not melt the arcylic paint, it make the polish become bright n shine. but i think it not good for black color( some cus not want black color change to dark blue when they show the nail out side :)) but it really good for nail painting, u should try it?? but in vn they not sell big bottle like that, they just sell small bottle 15 ml. or else u must wait for the arcylic to turn dry n then u can apply Seche topcoat.

  2. Clara says:

    Let the paint dry a little more, and when you apply the top coat, lift your brush 1mm higher with a much lighter sweep, that should help prevent streaking of your acrylic paint. 🙂

    • nailartexpress says:

      Thank you Clara! I think I was probably a little too heavy-handed with the acrylic paint as well for this one 😦

      On a side note… I can’t believe you popped by! I love your work and you are one of a few amazingly talented PRINA alumni who inspired me to do this professionally. 🙂

      • Clara says:

        Well, you’ll learn lessons with every set you do. Thank you and i’m glad i inspired you in such a positive way! Glad to see someone emerge in Sg doing it differently from the others. Good luck and stay unique! 🙂

Leave a Reply

