June Nail Wheel

I don’t often have the time to attend courses to upgrade my skills, and when I saw that my nail school, Pink Room, was conducting a Chanel Kitty nail art workshop on dates that I was actually free, I jumped at the amazing opportunity.

I’d always wanted to attend such workshops (my school has had My Melody-themed classes, Doggy-themed classes, and even Desserts-themed classes and I wish they would hold them again!), so this was really a dream come true. For just $380, I learnt how to sculpt an embossed Hello Kitty, as well as items associated with Chanel. I filled half a nail wheel with Chanel Kitty-themed designs:

20120602-163359.jpg

Left to right:
– Giant pink heart with the Chanel quilt texture, with a dangling charm of a (handmade!) Chanel No.5 perfume bottle
– Tiny Hello Kitty (this was my first one – they got bigger and more 3D as I slowly got the hang of it) dressed in a Chanel jacket and wearing a camellia (a sticker I affixed onto a camellia-shaped lump of acrylic)
– Black hand mirror with the Chanel logo (a flat metal charm)
– Gold Chanel charm encrusted with crystals
– Red lipstick and black and white shoes with the Chanel quilt texture
– Giant black heart with the Chanel logo (a flat metal charm) and lined with a string of gold bullion beads

20120602-163927.jpg

Left to right:
– Large ribbon made with two hearts and a round centre, with a dangling charm of a gold ribbon and giant crystal
– French tip design with an embossed flower in black and white
– The classic quilted Chanel bag, complete with gold chain, and hand-drawn logo clasp!
– Giant pink heart lined with a string of gold bullion beads, and bearing the word Chanel as well as the Chanel logo
– Floppy hat with the Chanel quilt texture, white trim and a ribbon

I felt that the course fees were money well-spent, because I learnt tips and techniques which improved my skills in embossed art. I felt so encouraged that I decided to apply my improved skills on more designs!

20120602-164548.jpg

This set was based on designs from another workshop previously conducted by my nail school. Although I didn’t attend the workshop, I could use what I learnt from the Chanel Kitty workshop to replicate these designs.

From left to right:
– Hello Kitty sitting sideways, clutching a heart
– Perfume bottle and lipstick, with ribbons
– Umbrella with ribbon
– Mirror and comb, with ribbon
– Hello Kitty holding a giant heart with the words Hello Kitty

I then decided to complete the entire nail wheel with more Hello Kitty designs, and I took inspiration from this photo on the Internet:

20120602-165028.jpg

This is what I did:

20120602-164503.jpg

From left to right:
– Hello Kitty in a blue shirt and pink overalls
– Hearts with ribbons
– Hello Kitty holding a giant ribbon
– Hello Kitty ribbons with embossed polka dots

Whew! This June wheel took me a good ten hours to complete, spread out over four sessions. Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

