Customisation: Swan Lake

Yvonne wanted ballet-themed nail art with a dark colour scheme, so after some discussion, this is what I did for her:

20120513-204002.jpg

The ballet dancer in white is based on a painting/picture (can’t really tell because the picture quality is so low!) that I also used previously for another ballet-themed manicure (and Yvonne had requested for that particular design but converted to a darker colour scheme):

20120513-204250.jpg

When I adapted it, it ended up having a very abstract feel compared to the Black Swan, which was based on a higher-resolution picture of Natalie Portman in her role:

20120513-204537.jpg

I added the feathers as I was inspired by this other picture:

20120513-204637.jpg

Now I wish I had referred to a picture of the White Swan to match!

20120513-204125.jpg

I did a black glitter gradient base with Gelish Ambience, Gelish Water Field and Gelish Black Shadow. However, for the right thumb, I skipped the black in order to better feature the Black Swan. I also added abstract white feathers on the black tips so that they would stand out and match the ballet dancer in white.

Love the Black Swan!

Leave a Reply

