Gelish: Futuristic Geometry

Vanny designed her own set based on the following picture:

20120413-185332.jpg

The sketch that she sent me in an email:

20120413-185408.jpg

My execution:

20120413-185506.jpg

I used Gelish Ambience for the base and did all the art with Gelish colours, Black Shadow and the Rio Neons collection.

20120413-185634.jpg

I also used silver striping tape, which really made the whole set stand out!

20120413-185746.jpg

It was very tedious though, especially for the jagged design, which involved cutting small strips of the tape and lining them into the right shape!

20120413-185853.jpg

I actually spent close to FOUR hours on the Gelish manicure and the art, so it’s definitely ranked up there as one of my most tedious and therefore (-ahem-) more pricey designs. I’m starting to think of charging by time spent instead of by design. What do you think?

I know, it’s a really radical idea and quite insane, but when you think about it, what should be the price of art? The amount of effort put into creating it, right?

20120413-190203.jpg

Which also means that something really simple like polka dots would also cost a lot less! Fair, no?

8 thoughts on “Gelish: Futuristic Geometry

  1. Ash-Lilly says:

    I do think charging according to time taken is a good idea for the intricate designs; that’s what tattoo artists do. The basic designs in the catalogues are priced up, but commissioned art is a different matter.
    I haven’t commented for months but still love your work x

    • nailartexpress says:

      I agree, but I think customers might beg to differ… πŸ˜› I’ll have to think this through and work it out!

      Thank you! And best of luck with the nail technician training! πŸ™‚

  2. L says:

    Hi, just want to ask how you keep the silver striping tape from peeling from the edges? I always have this problem when using them…

Leave a Reply

