Customisation: Ed Hardy Denim

Grace sent me the following design for her mani:

As it was my first time doing a denim design, I had to try it out first. The result of my experiment:

She also wanted to change the washing care instructions design to an Ed Hardy design instead and this was one of the pictures she sent me:

It looks complicated but it’s actually not difficult to replicate – all it requires is careful attention to proportions and basic techniques of using different shades to create highlights and shadows, and control of a brush to create fine details. The problem with this design is that it is tedious to make and takes me about 20 minutes PER NAIL due to the number of colours used and the time that I need to spend analysing the proportions as I go along.

Anyway… without further ado, this is what we ended up with!

I was so inspired by the denim theme that I also created a zipper design, and luckily for me, Grace liked it and added it into the mani. So, we had the Ed Hardy on a denim base for one thumb and the zipper on the other thumb!

I used Artistic Color Gloss Wham (I think) for the denim base and did all the art in acrylic paint. For the accent nail, I used Gelish Good Gossip for the base.

I didn’t have time to take any pictures because my next customer was waiting, and Grace was really nice to send me all the pictures and collages in this post!

One thought on “Customisation: Ed Hardy Denim

Leave a Reply

