My mini Gelish collection!

Decided to take the plunge and start a collection of Gelish colours! Gelish is not cheap – it’s more than twice the price of OPI (for me anyway) and I had a hard time justifying the purchase to myself initially because I like to do my nails often, and I usually get bored of a design after a few days.

However, it does make sense to use Gelish on myself because when I do nails for others and remove nail polish for them, the Gelish won’t come off and my own manicure remains perfect. So, I started with a small collection of 8 colours.

I could use my own primer, dehydrator and gel cleanser, but I had to buy the special top and base coat for Gelish as well, so the total damage was $200++. 😦

HOWEVER, I think it was totally worth it! I’m loving my new Gelish-ed nails in Forever Beauty:

6 thoughts on “My mini Gelish collection!

  1. Chrissy says:

    I use Shellac atm but plan on buying Gelish next. πŸ™‚ I read its stronger or has more gel than polish. Which would be better for longer nails! Can’t wait to see what you come up with using them. πŸ˜€

    • nailartexpress says:

      Yes, Gelish is strong stuff! I’ve had it last for a month for me and it protected my nails from breaking. I can’t wait to do something with my Gelish too, but I’ll have to acquire more colours first… πŸ˜› I know a lot of Japanese nail techs do marbelising with gel, so maybe it can be done with Gelish too… I’ll have to experiment!

  2. Heather says:

    A great way to use the gelish and have fun is to choose the base coat and then after the curing and wipe you can add a design top with top coat. That way you can change up the design without changing the base coat. If you do it for a client top with the gel top coat and cure a second time then their designs last the whole time πŸ™‚ my clients love the opition.

    • nailartexpress says:

      That is an awesome tip, Heather – thank you for sharing!

      I do recall having my nails done like that once… my nail tech did Gelish, then added the drippy design with acrylic paint before sealing it with Gelish’s Top It Off. However, the effect wasn’t very good because some parts of the acrylic design turned matte while most parts remained shiny after the application of the top coat. I wonder why! \

      I was thinking that to be safe, I’ll use Gelish polishes for the nail art instead of acrylic paint… what do you think?

  3. theblackcat1236 says:

    Is gelish like the same stuff in the fake gel nails you can get? And what would you remove it with if nail polish remover doesn’t effect it ?_?

    • nailartexpress says:

      Gelish is a soak off gel polish, quite different from the gel nails which are more hardy and can last for months. Gelish comes off quite easily after you soak it in acetone!

Leave a Reply

