Soldier Girl

A while back, I was toying with the idea of creating a set of nail art with camouflage prints as the base, but mixed with studs, and colours like gold and black for more attitude and glamour.

As there was a lull in the afternoon at the Flashbang flea last Saturday, I attempted the camouflage print on my own nail for the first time.

20110531-052557.jpg

The base colour is OPI Skull & Glossbones and I used acrylic paint (mixed my own shades of army green, olive green and brown) to add random blobs. I think it’s quite simple – the key is to avoid making shapes with sharp edges and then ensure that all the shapes are random!

Can’t wait to work this into a set! Hina volunteered to let me try it on her, so I’ll post pictures when I can. In the meantime, though, I’m thinking of trying this with different colour themes – pink camo, desert camo etc… What do you think? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Soldier Girl

  1. Evonne says:

    i want to do this too! Intended to do it with camo but never got around to it… have yet to remove my acrylic wedding nails –__–“

      • Evonne says:

        hehe when i’m finally free… *sobs at the thought of all my projects* and also i can’t remove the blings on my right hand without removing the extensions! i managed to remove all the bling off my left hand, but not my right. not enough strength/grip, i think i might stab myself!

        how do people remove those blings?!!!!??? i’m using a cuticle clipper cos nothing is sharp enough to poke and catch it!

      • nailartexpress says:

        Yes, I usually use a bit of acetone to soak off the nail glue a little before tugging them off with blunt (don’t use your sharp ones as it’ll blunt them!) cuticle nippers. πŸ™‚ you’re probably having trouble because of the gel top coat!

      • Evonne says:

        lol! yay im heading to my manicurist tmr. *phew*

        yes the gel top coat!! I can’t soak it off if i’m not wrong? Can only file right? 3%#%#%@%

      • nailartexpress says:

        Yup! That’s what I hate about hard gel… Zzz. Although there are actually soak-off gel top coats, so next time you can ask Cynthia if she has those!

Leave a Reply

