Acrylic Extensions – Tip Overlay VS Sculpture

I have a full set of extensions on right now and this is what my left hand looks like:

The two nails with sculpture extensions were done on Wednesday and the three with tip overlay extensions were done on Friday. As you can see, with the french tip overlays, you get a nicer, standardised “smile line”. However, if your nails are yellow, it shows up as the overlay is done with clear acrylic compared to pink + white acrylic for the sculptures.

Sculptures are also more natural-looking IMO when you look at the nails from below – not plasticky-looking like the tip overlays! However, they are a lot more tedious as you have to build the tip from scratch and fit the finger well with a nail form. It takes a lot more time than just sticking on the nail tips and covering the whole nail with acrylic. Personally, I prefer the sculpture extension, but I need to work on getting the “smile line” to look more like a V instead of a C.

2 thoughts on “Acrylic Extensions – Tip Overlay VS Sculpture

  1. Ash-Lilly says:

    I agree entirely. I have absolutely no training other than my trial and error over the years, but if I have the time, I’d rather create sculpted tips over gel/acrylic/fibre glass.

    Your set look nice though-with both methods.

    • nailartexpress says:

      Wow! It takes a lot of courage to DIY extensions – I find it so difficult already even with a teacher coaching me! There are so many things to pay attention to that it boggles my mind. 😦 Where do you get tips from?

Leave a Reply

