Ethics in nailblogging

Nail bloggers generally follow an unspoken code of conduct. I know there are some variations in how strictly nail bloggers follow these rules – I was pleasantly surprised awhile back when I received an email from Ash-Lilly asking if she could post my Half Moon and Roses picture in her blog because she wanted to do her own version of it.

I started wondering if I had “misbehaved” by not asking for permission from other bloggers when I used their pictures. I always link back to the original post and state clearly that the design is based on someone else’s, and to me, it’s ok as long as you don’t pass off someone else’s idea as your own. Then, on the other extreme, there are those who are incredibly unethical, who just steal pictures and pretend that the pictures and posts belong to them.

This post is being written because today I found a blogger who posted a design very close to mine, and it’s such a special design that I would recognise it anywhere. I also found a design of hers that is identical to one of the designs on the Pink Room nail art board. There was no description of the design or any explanation of sources that inspired her, only pictures of the designs. I know she is/was a student in Pink Room and that she read/reads my blog, so that prompted my suspicion as well. What do you think about this?

15 thoughts on “Ethics in nailblogging

  1. Doo says:

    In my opinion we should always refer to the initial source of inspiration – even if the end result doesn’t resemble it too much.

    First of all, it’s fun to see how differently we interpret designs. Even if the inspiration is just an object we see (a purse, a packaging, a great pattern on a dress…). Second of all, why wouldn’t we share a great source of inspiration with others – isn’t that what the blogging is all about?

    I know the designs sometimes seem to come out of the blue and we don’t even realise who inspired us. And sometimes we do make similar designs when great minds think alike. That’s how I wanted to think when I saw JulieG make a very similar nail design than I on YouTube over a year after mine… LOL

    But when the credits are not there and we feel they should be, then readers can provide a link on the comments and the blogger can edit the post to thank the creator. That way everyone stays happy πŸ™‚

  2. Mynt says:

    Hello yingying!

    I hope I’m not the one whom u r mentioning.. But I’ve relog 1 of my post. I do have a design that was inspired by ur pink room nail lesson designs. Sorry if I missed that out! ^_^

    Cheers
    Mynt

    • nailartexpress says:

      No!! It’s not you!!

      I was referring to one of my original designs that is more complicated and something that no one else has ever done… For simple designs like dots n roses I wouldn’t dare to claim them as my own cos they are everywhere! Heh.

  3. Mynt says:

    Wow! Thank god, i was like oh no.. Did I missed out something? Hahas Nowadays people are always lidat. I think I know who u r referring to. Anw, pink room seems to be quite fun! Im kinda interested to take up the acrylic and gel course!! ^_^

    • nailartexpress says:

      Ah? You know? I only saw her blog for the first time today and it is a really new blog… started in March. :/

      You should! You can drop by the school and chit chat with the course consultant to find out more. Ehhh or if you are free, when I am doing my gel/acrylic self-study sessions, you can be my model and learn a bit about it before you decide if you wanna do it. πŸ™‚

      • Mynt says:

        If I’m not wrong this is not the first time she sort of ‘stole’ ur design? It’s polka dots with ribbon? I think I should give ur school a visit after my major exams in June. Hee.

      • nailartexpress says:

        OMG. I only know of the polka dots with ribbons. o.O

        Yes, you should totally check it out. The teachers are very nice and I really think Pink Room is the best in Singapore. πŸ™‚

  4. Artful Expression says:

    I think that it’s good practice to ask the inspiration’s blogger to use their pictures if you so wish. But if you are doing a mani based on another bloggers design but are not using their pictures then a link back to them is what you should do. I don’t think anyone should ever use someone else’s pictures or direct ideas (copycats) without having permission or giving credit where credit is due. It’s simple ethics, and manners.

  5. bavani's colours says:

    I think one of the main reasons for nail blogging is to provide inspiration and share creativity. So I just don’t understand why someone would hide where they got inspired. They must have ulterior motives…

  6. Ash-Lilly says:

    Hiya Ying, hope you are well! I co-sign with you (of course, lol!) You don’t even have to go so far as to send an email to ask for permission (that’s just my way, I guess) A link back or some kind of acknowledgement is sufficient. It doesn’t take five minutes…and I think it’s courteous.
    X

    • nailartexpress says:

      Hi! Hope you are doing well too; haven’t seen you update in a while. How long are you away for? πŸ™‚

      I was really amazed by how nice you were to ask for permission… I am happy as long as there is a link heh. Definitely agree that it shows courtesy!

Leave a Reply

