Never paint your nails when you’re exhausted

… because you’ll just keep making mistakes!

Last night, after getting home from my nail art class, I was really tired. I had a (late) dinner, and then sat down to clean the polish from my nails. It took a while because of the crystals, and by the time I was done, I was ready to sleep.

However, I refused to go to bed because I really wanted to try out a design. While taking the train home, I saw a lady in a pretty floral top. It was light grey, with white polka dots all over and pink roses here and there. I couldn’t wait to translate it into a nail design, so I took out my China Glaze Recycle (grey creme) and got cracking.

I was squinting and rubbing my eyes a lot – they kept closing and I was so sleepy! In the end, I had to reapply the polish FOUR times because I kept smooshing my fingers against each other or hitting them against random objects. It was depressing. By the time I finished testing out the design on one nail, I was ready to call it quits. I quickly did the half moon on the rest of the fingers, applied Seche Vite, and waited for a while before going to bed. The result:

As you can see, the half moons aren’t perfect. I did them with acrylic paint without even mixing the paint to get the right consistency because I couldn’t wait to go to bed.

I didn’t even paint my nails well. Sigh.

Anyway, on to the roses:
1. Dabbed on light pink acrylic paint in random blobs
2. Added details with medium pink acrylic paint
3. Added more details with red acrylic paint
(The three shades help to make it look more blended for that watercolour painting effect.)
4. Light green acrylic paint for leaves
5. Add details with dark green acrylic paint
(Again, to add some depth…)

I think it might look better with a lighter shade of grey, because the flowers aren’t really obvious against this grey. That means… I should probably buy that Pelican something or another (I have such a bad memory!) from China Glaze’s Anchors Away collection!

2 thoughts on “Never paint your nails when you’re exhausted

    • nailartexpress says:

      That’s great! All my designs are for sharing! πŸ˜€

      It would probably look great if you mixed it up a little. I was so sleepy I just did it on one nail and the rest are boring half moons. 😦

Leave a Reply

